school logo

Curriculum Overview

Please refer to our 'Class Pages' section to see an up to date overview of each classes termly curriculum coverage.

School ethos and values

St Nicholas’ Primary School aims to provide a challenging and creative learning environment within which the National Curriculum and the wider curriculum can be delivered effectively.

We encourage positive attitudes to learning so that each child may be helped to achieve his or her full potential and to enjoy learning throughout their life.

The school atmosphere is happy, energetic, purposeful, secure, creative and caring. We actively promote trust and respect between children, teachers, parents and others in the life of the school.

We aim to extend children’s social, spiritual, moral, environmental and cultural awareness within the school, the community and the world outside, and are committed to providing equal opportunities for all children.

Parents, staff, pupils and governors are all essential working partners in achieving these aims. 

St Nicholas’ Primary School is committed to giving children an excellent, broad-based education, and nurturing within each child enthusiastic, positive attitudes towards life-long learning. 

What children learn  

Each child will be working on the four core subjects of: mathematics (numeracy), English (literacy), science, and ICT, as well as the six foundation subjects of: design technology, history, geography, art, music, and physical education.

These are all vitally important aspects of the curriculum.

In art, music and drama, children are given first-hand experiences of observing and performing in the Arts. There are visits from outside performers, musicians and artists during the school year.

Religious education is taught from Oxfordshire County Council’s agreed syllabus. Parents are reminded that they may withdraw their children from collective Acts of Worship.

Teaching and assessment

We provide a broad curriculum, based on children having practical experiences in a stimulating environment. Work is developed through a topic-based approach, and each year and term has specific subject areas linked to the school’s curriculum map. Schemes of Work are published for each subject area and are supported by teachers’ weekly and daily plans.

Care is also taken to ensure a balance is maintained across and between subject areas, and time allocations are made to ensure coverage of all National Curriculum subjects are in accordance with advice from the Qualifications and Curriculum Authority. 

At the end of each Key Stage, Level descriptions are used to assess children’s progress and achievements.







3 – 5



Foundation Stage Curriculum

Foundation Stage Profile

5 – 6

Key Stage 1

Year 1

National Curriculum:

English, Maths, Science, DT, ICT,

History, Geography,

Art, Music & PE

Religious Education

PSHE & Citizenship


6 – 7

Year 2

National KS1 Tests and Tasks in Maths & English

7 – 8

Key Stage 2

Year 3

Optional QCA tests in Maths & English

8 – 9

Year 4

Optional QCA tests in Maths & English

9 –10

Year 5

Optional QCA test in Maths & English

10 –11

Year 6

National KS2 Tests in Maths, English & Science


 Please refer to our 'Class Pages' section to see an up to date overview of each classes termly curriculum coverage.

EYFS Overview

Overview of EYFS for FS webpage


Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS)  is how the Government and early years professionals describe the time in your child’s life between birth and age 5. When children start at St Nicholas’ School at the age of 3, they join our Nursery class, then move into our Reception classes in the September when they are 4 years old.

The EYFS Framework explains how and what your child will be learning to support their healthy development. Your child will be learning skills, acquiring new knowledge and demonstrating their understanding through 7 areas of learning and development. Children should mostly develop the 3 prime areas first. These are:

· Communication and language;

· Physical development; and

· Personal, social and emotional development.

These prime areas are those most essential for your child’s healthy development and future learning. As children grow, the prime areas will help them to develop skills in 4 specific areas. These are:

· Literacy;

· Mathematics;

· Understanding the world; and

· Expressive arts and design.

These 7 areas are used to plan your child’s learning and activities. This is a little bit like a curriculum in primary and secondary schools, but it's suitable for very young children, and it's designed to be really flexible so that staff can follow your child's unique needs and interests.

Children in the EYFS learn by playing and exploring, being active, and through creative and critical thinking which takes place both indoors and outside.


At St Nicholas’ Primary School, we recognise that children come to us having already had a wide variety of experiences. We work closely with parents and carers to ensure that we have the information that we need to best support the children in our care.


We plan a wide range of learning activities for the children, both in the classroom and outside, and we give careful consideration to the children’s characteristics of learning when planning. We give time and resources to children to initiate their own learning, as well as providing them with opportunities to work together with adults. The children work towards achieving the Early Learning Goals (ELGs) and at the end of their time in EYFS, we assess their achievements by completing the EYFS profile.



Learning Zone

This Term

Latest News

see more news

Website Links

Curriculum Documents

ofsted e-safety